Title 4—DEPARTMENT OF
ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT
Division 240—Public Service
Commission
Chapter 13—Service and Billing Practices for Residential Customers of Electric,
Gas, Sewer, and Water Utilities

Proposed Amendment

4 CSR 240-13.020 Billing and Payment Standards. The Commission is adding a new
section (13).

PURPOSE: This amendment limits the use of payday loan type lending entities as
authorized pay agents for collection of payments to utilities.

(13) No utility may enter into any contractual or authorized pay agent relationship
with any pawnshop, auto title loan company, payday loan company, or other short-
term lending entity engaged in the business of making unsecured loans of five
hundred dollars or less, with original payment terms of thirty-one (31) days, or less,
or where repayment of the loan is secured by the borrower’s postdated check. This
restriction shall not apply if the lending entity offers such loans at an aggregate,
effective annual percentage interest rate of less than thirty-six (36) percent.

AUTHORITY: sections 386.250(6) and 393.140(11), RSMo 2000.* Original rule filed Dec.
19, 1975, effective Dec. 30, 1975. Amended: Filed Oct. 14, 1977, effective Jan. 13, 1978.
Rescinded and readopted: Filed Sept. 22, 1993, effective July 10, 1994. Amended: Filed
Aug. 1, 2013, effective March 30, 2014.

*Qriginal authority: 386.250(6), RSMo 1939, amended 1963, 1967, 1980, 1987, 1988,
1991 and 393.140(11), RSMo 1939, amended 1949, 1967.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed amendment will not cost state agencies or political
subdivisions more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed amendment will not cost private entities more than five
hundred dollars ($500) in the aggregate.

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS AND NOTICE OF PUBLIC HEARING: Anyone may
file comments in support of or in opposition to this proposed rule with the Missouri Public
Service Commission, Morris L. Woodruff, Secretary of the Commission, PO Box 360,
Jefferson City, MO 65102. To be considered, comments must be received at the
commission’s offices on or before March 31, 2016, and should include a reference to
Commission Case No. AX-2015-0061. Comments may also be submitted via a filing using
the commission’s electronic filing and information system at
http://www. psc.mo.gov/efis.asp. A public hearing regarding this proposed amendment is
scheduled for April 8, 2016, at 10:00 a.m., in Room 305 of the Governor Office Building,
200 Madison St., Jefferson City, Missouri. Interested persons may appear at this hearing



http://www.psc.mo.gov/efis.asp

to submit additional comments and/or testimony in support of or in opposition to this
proposed rule, and may be asked to respond to commission questions. Any persons with
special needs as addressed by the Americans with Disabilities Act should contact the
Missouri Public Service Commission at least ten (10) days prior to the hearing at one (1)
of the following numbers: Consumer Services Hotline 1-800-392-4211 or TDD Hotline 1-
800-829-7541.



