
Title 20—DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE, FINANCIAL INSTITUTIONS AND 
PROFESSIONAL REGISTRATION 

Division 2267—Office of Tattooing, Body Piercing and Branding 
Chapter 2—Licensing Requirements 

 
PROPOSED RULE 

 
20 CSR 2267-2.033 Renewal of License or Registration for Military Members 
 
PURPOSE: This rule sets forth the procedures for licensees and registrants who are members of 
any United States or State of Missouri military, pursuant to section 41.950, RSMo, who have 
served on active military duty, pursuant to section 41.950, RSMo. Specifically, the rule sets forth 
procedures for the renewal of a license or registration, for completing obligations of the 
division, and for discipline of a license or registration. 

 
(1) Any individual holding a current license or registration that is engaged in the performance of 

active military duty who has their license or registration lapse while performing such military 
service, may renew or reinstate such license or registration without penalty by: 
(A) Filing with the division a Notice of Active Military Duty on a form provided by the 

division or by written communication accepted by the division that shall be signed and 
dated by the individual and shall contain the individual’s name, address, the type of 
license or registration, license or registration number, and the date of active duty 
activation, and shall be accompanied by a copy of the individual’s active duty orders or 
other evidence sufficient for the division to determine the dates of active military duty; 
and 

(B) Filing such Notice of Active Military Duty or accepted written communication with the 
division no later than sixty (60) days after completion of the active duty military service. 

 
(2) Upon receipt and approval of the Notice of Active Military Duty or accepted written 

communication, the division shall reinstate the individual’s license or registration with no 
further requirements.  

 
(3) If a licensee or registrant fails to take any required action or fails to meet any required 

obligation of the division while the licensee or registrant is on active military duty, the 
licensee or registrant shall have at least one hundred eighty (180) days after the end of his or 
her active military duty to take those actions or fulfill those obligations before any 
administrative action can be taken by the division. 

 
(4) If the division desires to initiate disciplinary action, administrative action, or any other 

proceeding where the licensee or registrant is a necessary party and the licensee or registrant 
is on active military duty, the division shall stay such action or proceeding until at least sixty 
(60) days after the licensee or registrant returns from active duty. 

 
Authority: sections 41.950 and 324.522, RSMo Supp. 2013. Original rule filed March 28, 2016. 
 



PUBLIC COST: This proposed rule will not cost state agencies or political subdivisions more 
than five hundred dollars ($500) in the aggregate.  
 
PRIVATE COST: This proposed rule will not cost private entities more than five hundred dollars 
($500) in the aggregate. 
 
NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS: Anyone may file a statement in support of or in opposition 
to this proposed rule with the Office of Tattooing, Body Piercing and Branding, PO Box 1335, 
Jefferson City, Missouri 65102, via facsimile at (573)526-3489, or via email at 
tattoo@pr.mo.gov. To be considered, comments must be received within thirty (30) days after 
publication of this notice in the Missouri Register. No public hearing is scheduled. 
 


